The Millennium Development Goals In The Arab Region 2005

22 Jul 2005

A total of 191 countries adopted the United Nations Millennium Declaration at the Millennium Summit, which was held from 6 to 8 September 2000, thereby renewing their commitment to peace and security, and to promoting democracy, good governance and respect for internationally agreed upon human rights and fundamental freedoms, including the right to development. Based on the principles and commitments outlined in the Declaration and those outlined in previous conferences and summits, the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) were adopted as a set of eight time-bound, measurable goals aimed at eradicating extreme poverty and improving living conditions for women and men alike. In 2000, Arab countries pledged to achieve these Goals and reiterated their commitment to keeping that promise in the Arab Declaration on the pursuit of the implementation of the MDGs, which was adopted by members of the League of Arab States on 30 June 2005.

Achieving MDGs requires political will and collective action in terms of implementing and following up on policy reforms and decisions that have been informed by a consensus on key issues and challenges. In his report, “In larger freedom: Towards security, development and human rights for all”, the Secretary- General of the United Nations emphasized the need for regional and global partnerships in which States, civil society, the private sector and intergovernmental institutions work together to mobilize resources and coordinate efforts to advance the causes of security, development and human rights, which are inseparable and interlinked.

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Arab States 
Go to UNDP Global