Ministry of foreign affairs and emigrants and UNDP sign a new project: 'support to the second meeting of state parties to the convention on cluster munitions”

Jun 22, 2011

Beirut- H.E. Mr. Adnan Mansour, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Emigrants, and the UNDP Resident Representative Mr. Robert Watkins will sign a project document entitled “Support to the Second Meeting of State Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions”. The ceremony will take place today, Wednesday June 22nd at 3:30pm, at the premises of the ministry of Foreign Affairs in Beirut. 

This project will assist in establishing a Lebanese national working group tasked with organizing the Second Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions. It will aid in mobilizing appropriate support, assist the working group in supporting the Government's task force, and help the Government carry out its duties under the Convention's Presidency. The total project budget is $ 1,450,717,00 Lebanon will contribute $ 483,496,00, the rest $ 959,585,00 will be provided by donor countries. 

Lebanon will host the Second Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions from 12 -16 September in Beirut. More than 100 governments will be joined by UN agencies, international organizations, civil society and survivors to assess the progress of the treaty’s implementation, and to agree on the best way forward to end the suffering caused by cluster munitions.

The 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions comprehensively bans the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of cluster munitions, sets strict deadlines for clearance of contaminated areas and destruction of stockpiles of the weapon, and includes groundbreaking provisions for assistance to victims and affected communities. 

Lebanon ratified the Convention on Cluster Munitions in November 2010, and has been actively engaged from the very beginning of the diplomatic Oslo Process to negotiate the Convention, which began in February 2007. Globally, 108 countries have signed the treaty, including the majority of former producers and users of cluster munitions as well as affected states, and 57 countries ratified it.

© 2012 United Nations Development Programme Turn high contrast mode on